#### **School District U-46**

Elgin, Illinois

May 9, 2022

### The video of the May 9, 2022 meeting can be found here:

May 9, 2022, BOE Meeting

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 6:05 p.m. at South Elgin High School, 760 East Main Street, South Elgin, Illinois. The following Board members answered roll call: John Devereux, Dawn Martin, Veronica Noland, Melissa Owens, Eva Porter, Kate Thommes, and Sue Kerr. Also present were Superintendent Dr. Tony Sanders, Chief Legal Officer Trisha Olson, as well as other administrators, guests, and visitors. Ms. Kerr led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

### 1. Accent on Achievement

## A. Kane County Educational of the Year Nominees

As part of the Board of Education's Accent on Achievement, the Board of Education recognized Faviola Ximena Escobar, Larsen Middle School teacher, Juan Figueroa, Elgin High School teacher, Sandy Ritter, Tefft Middle School teacher, and Steve Tucker, South Elgin High School Assistant Principal, for being nominated for Educator of the Year by the Kane County Regional Office of Education on Friday, April 29, 2022.

# B. Juan Figueroa - Kane County Educator of the Year Regional Superintendent Award

As part of the Board of Education's Accent on Achievement, the Board of Education recognized Juan Figueroa, Elgin High School teacher, for being named Kane County Educator of the Year Regional Superintendent Award by the Kane County Regional Office of Education on Friday, April 29, 2022.

### C. Top 2% High School Seniors.

The Board of Education presented certificates and congratulatory letters to the Top 2% of High School Seniors. The Principal from each high school was in attendance to present.

### 2. Move to Closed

President Kerr requested a motion to move into closed session to discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees and for collective negotiating matters between the School Board and its employees or their representatives, or deliberations concerning salary schedules for one or more classes of employees.

The motion was made at 7:06 p.m. by Ms. Thommes, second by Ms. Owens. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Martin, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Ms. Thommes and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

## 3. Move to Open

Motion by Ms. Noland, second by Ms. Martin, to reconvene into open session at 8:50 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Martin, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

### 4. Adjournment

Motion by Ms. Thommes, second by Ms. Porter, to adjourn the Regular Board Meeting of May 9, 2022, at 8:53 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Martin, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

Approved this _	6th	day of	June	, 2022.	
Susa_ President	-/ ع	Sen		Secretary Secretary	a. Olm